Strawberries, Strawberries, and more Strawberries

I grew up eating an immense amount of strawberries as kid. We had a strawberry patch in our backyard and during the summer I would eat them straight from the garden, unwashed (oh no!) Yea, I did pretty much all those things that have been shunned now, including drinking out of the hose *gasp*!
Anyway back to the strawberries; that is the what this post is all about anyway hence the title. When I moved out of the house after graduation and to Pensacola where Papa Bear was stationed at the time, I found out the cold, hard truth. Strawberries cost a lot! Sure $2.50 per pound doesn’t seem like a lot to some people, but to someone who has NEVER paid for strawberries before, it’s a lot. Even now i cringe at paying $2 for a pound of strawberries.
When I was at Fry’s I picked up strawberries on sale for $.98 per pound! Woot to that! I bought four pounds, which was the limit. Only problem with that was figuring out how to eat that many strawberries before they go bad. It wouldn’t be too hard if Papa Bear was here, but with him gone and Starbuck only on boobie juice still, it was all up to me. I found a recipe for syrup for strawberry juice on Diethood.com that I altered a little bit. Well, not much , I only replaced the white sugar with coconut palm sugar. I love coconut palm sugar and it’s not refined either so it makes your sweets a little bit more “healthy.”

Strawberry Syrup

2 cups strawberries, halved
1 1/2 cups sugar
Glass Container (I used a pint mason jar)

Place half of the strawberries in a large bowl; cover with 1-cup of sugar. Add the remaining strawberries and sprinkle with the rest of the sugar. Cover the bowl and place in the fridge for 24 hours.

Transfer the berries and the juice into a large saucepan. Preheat the oven to 170°.Wash the glass bottle; place it on a baking sheet and put it in the oven for 30 minutes. Over medium-high heat, bring the mixture to a boil; turn the heat down and continue to simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove from heat and strain the mixture through a fine mesh strainer into a large bowl. Using a spatula, press the strawberries against the mesh strainer to release all the juices.

Remove glass bottle from the oven. Sterilize the  jar flat and ring by placing it in a bowl and pour boiling water right over it.   Pour the juice into the container. Seal and and let completely cool. Store in refrigerator

Diethood used 1/4 cup of syrup per cup of water. I used a little less and just add fresh strawberries to mine. I also stir a couple tablespoons into milk for some yummy strawberry milk, which was a favorite of mine to have at Grandma’s house. Loved this recipe and loved how nostalgic it was!

Leave a Reply

